North Essex Garden Communities

North Essex Garden Communities Issues & Options

The first stage in producing planning documents for each of the three Garden Communities is called Issues and Options.

A public consultation for each of the proposed plans took place between the 13th of November 2017 and 5pm on 2nd February 2018 (originally 22nd of January 2018).

This has been an opportunity for the general public to put forward their views on the main issues that will need to be dealt with in the development of the garden communities and to identify potential options to deal with those issues.

The feedback received will help with the more detailed stages of masterplanning.

All the responses are now being processed and published on the consultation portal

A series of exhibitions were also held for the public to find out more about the proposals and speak with the planning officers:


Time and Date 

Marks Tey Parish Hall, Old London Road, Marks Tey, CO6 1EJ 
Saturday 18th November 10.00-14.00
William Loveless Hall, 85-87 High Street, Wivenhoe, CO7 9AB Monday  20th November  15.00-19.00
Great Tey Village Hall, Chappel Road, Great Tey, CO6 1JQ  Tuesday 21st November 16.00-20.00
Colchester Market, High Street, Colchester, CO1 1PJ  Friday 24th November 10.00-14.00
The Salings Millennium Village Hall, Piccotts Lane, Great Saling, CM7 5DW Saturday 25th November 10.00-14.00
Old Friend's Meeting House, High Street, Stebbing, CM6 3SE Monday 27th November 16.00-20.00
Coggeshall Village Hall, Stoneham Street, Coggeshall, CO6 1UH Thursday 30th November 15.00-19.00
Greenstead Community Centre, Hawthorn Avenue, Colchester, CO4 3QE Saturday 2nd December 10.00-14.00
Feering Community Centre, Coggeshall Road, Feering, CO5 9QB Tuesday 5th December 16.00-20.00
Braintree Town Hall, Market Square, Braintree, CM7 3YG Wednesday 6th December 16.00-20.00
Easthorpe Church Hall, Easthorpe Road, Colchester, CO5 9HD Thursday 7th December 16.00-20.00
Market Field School, School Road, Elmstead Market, CO7 7ET Thursday 14th December 16.00-20.00
*NEW DATE FOR RAYNE* Rayne Scout HQ, Station Road, Rayne, CM77 6RX Wednesday 10th January 2018 16.00-20.00
*ADDITIONAL DATE* William Loveless Hall, 85-87 High Street, Wivenhoe CO7 9AB Thursday 11th January 2018 17:00-21:00
*ADDITIONAL DATES* Copford Village Hall, School Road, Copford CO6 1BX

Saturday 6th & Saturday 13th January 2018 12:-14:00

Updated 8th February 2018